Spring direct naar de hoofdnavigatie of de inhoud
‘Les idées simples sont souvent les meilleures inventions. En même temps, ce sont les plus difficiles à protéger. C’est justement ce genre d’inventions que j’aime défendre et protéger.’
Bernard Ledeboer

Bernard Ledeboer

  • Ingénierie
  • European Patent Attorney Litigator
  • Mandataire en brevets européens et néerlandais
  • Partenaire

ReBernard Ledeboer a débuté sa carrière de mandataire en brevets chez V.O. en 1997. Auparavant, il travaillait pour un grand cabinet d’avocats à Amsterdam. Outre ses études d’ingénieur, il a suivi une formation juridique spécialisée en droit de la propriété intellectuelle.

Continuez la lecture

L’expertise générale de Bernard se situe dans le domaine du génie mécanique et génie civil. Il s’est spécialisé dans la construction de machines, les systèmes de fabrication flexibles, les systèmes de transport, les techniques offshore, les instruments chirurgicaux et les produits de consommation. Ses clients sont très divers, avec un accent particulier sur les entreprises d’approvisionnement industriel de taille moyenne. Bernard a une approche pragmatique de la protection de la PI et est un véritable forgeur de mots aimant communiquer directement avec ses clients. Sa pratique peut se diviser en deux : d’une part, les poursuites et d’autre part la juridiction en matière de brevets. Il possède une vaste expérience des affaires de brevets devant la Cour de La Haye et des procédures d’opposition et de recours auprès de l’Office européen des brevets. Bernard est qualifié pour agir en tant que ‘European Patent Attorney Litigator’ devant l’Unified Patent Court (UPC), le tribunal central pour les brevets européens. Il met à profit son expérience dans le domaine de la juridiction pour constituer des portefeuilles de brevets solides pour ses clients.

Bernard est responsable de la section Ingénierie et High-tech & Électronique. Il est également l’un des fondateurs du China Desk de V.O. et membre du comité de direction de V.O.

En plus de son travail à V.O., Bernard est juge de brevets à temps partiel à l’Unified Patent Court (UPC).

Expérience professionnelle

  • Mandataire en brevets, V.O. (1997-aujourd’hui)

Formation

  • LLM in Law (Maître en droit), Nottingham Law School (2011)
  • Ingénieur, Génie mécanique, Université de technologie de Delft (1995)
  • Économie, Beloit College, États-Unis

Guides

  • Recommended individual (JUVE Patent 2020, 2021, 2022)
  • « Dans le domaine du génie mécanique et civil, il est difficile de trouver un meilleur expert que Bernard Ledeboer. Il s’accorde parfaitement avec les équipes juridiques et les inventeurs des entreprises, et possède l’expérience et la perspicacité nécessaires pour résoudre leurs problèmes de poursuites et de litiges » (IAM Patent 1000, 2021).
  • Reconnu comme Patent Star (2015, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) par Managing Intellectual Property
  • Recommended Individual (IAM Patent 1000, 2020, 2021, 2022)
  • Recommendé dans Who’s Who Legal 2020
  • Bernard Ledeboer « possède une vaste expérience des relations avec les tribunaux et a le don de présenter les affaires de manière claire et efficace » (IAM Patent 1000, 2019)
  • « Bernard Ledeboer « impressionne particulièrement » et est souvent cité par ses pairs comme l’exemple de ce que devrait être un procureur. Ce féru d’ingénierie affiche également des qualifications et de l’expérience en matière de litiges. Il se distingue par ses efforts récents, en collaboration avec ses collègues du bureau belge, en excellant dans les procédures d’opposition pour le compte de géants de la plasturgie, ainsi que par sa contribution technique essentielle aux procédures d’infraction opposant le grand chef des dispositifs médicaux B Braun Melsungen à son rival par excellence Beckton Dickinson. « Il a une approche pragmatique de la protection de la PI et est un génie des mots qui aime la communication directe avec ses clients » (IAM Patent 1000, 2018)
  • « L’ingénieur en mécanique Bernard Ledeboer a une LLM en contentieux de la PI et intervient régulièrement dans des dossiers de contrefaçon ; il a obtenu récemment un jugement favorable pour Ascom en collaboration avec Peter Hendricks de Freshfields » (IAM Patent 1000, 2016)
  • « Bernard Ledeboer est un fin connaisseur de l’ingénierie mécanique et toujours performant. Travaillant sur les deux aspects du clivage contentieux/non-contentieux, il est en excellente position pour fournir des conseils exhaustifs » (IAM Patent 1000, 2015)
  • « Bernard Ledeboer est le premier point de contact pour les avocats en quête d’assistance technique sur les dossiers de contentieux » (IAM Patent 1000, 2014)
  • « Excellents communicateurs, Leo Jessen et Bernard Ledeboer sont les premiers spécialistes d’ingénierie mécanique de la place » (IAM Patent 1000, 2013)
  • « La formation juridique et l’expérience d’affaires devant la Cour de La Haye de Bernard Ledeboer font que c’est une joie de travailler avec lui – il comprend les difficultés auxquelles les avocats sont confrontés et sait intuitivement comment une affaire devrait être présentée à un juge. Spécialiste en génie civil et mécanique, Bernard Ledeboer affiche une expertise très pointue dans la construction mécanique, les systèmes transporteurs et les produits chirurgicaux » (IAM Patent 1000, 2012)

Publications

  • Patent Litigation at the patents County Court?, Extended Piece of Work for the LLM in Intellectual Property Litigation at Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Trent University, 2011.

Activités annexes

  • Juge techniquement qualifié (à temps partiel) à l’Unified Patent Court (UPC)
  • Membre de l’association néerlandaise des conseils en brevets, de l’EPI, de l’AIPPI, du CEIPI et d’UNION

Langues

  • Néerlandais
  • Anglais
  • Allemand

Nouvelles

Recommandé par JUVE Patent

Fin septembre, V.O. a reçu une “recommandation” de JUVE Patent dans les catégories “Patent Filing” et “Litigation : Patent Attorneys” pour la deuxième année consécutive. Les “personnes recommandées” sont Jetze Beeksma, Marco Box, Leo Jessen, Martin Klok, Bernard Ledeboer et Otto Oudshoorn.Continuez la lecture

Colonne – « Choisir quoi protéger »

Les marques Triumph et Sloggi ont toujours été célèbres pour les innovations qu’elles introduisent sans cesse sur le marché de la lingerie. Triumph International entend continuer à se démarquer par son expertise inégalable en matière de confort, de style et d’ajustement.Continuez la lecture

Enregistrés en tant que mandataires en brevets européens

En juillet, pas moins de cinq associés de V.O. ont été inscrits comme mandataires européens en brevets, après avoir appris qu’ils avaient tous réussi leur EQE (examen européen de qualification) quelques semaines auparavant.Continuez la lecture

Spring direct naar de hoofdnavigatie of de inhoud
‘Simple ideas are often the best inventions, but are the most difficult to protect. I enjoy the challenge of safeguarding those inventions.’
Bernard Ledeboer

Bernard Ledeboer

  • Engineering
  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney
  • Partner

Bernard Ledeboer started his career as an Patent Attorney with V.O. in 1997. Before, he worked at a large law firm in Amsterdam. He holds an MSc in Mechanical Engineering, and an LLM in Intellectual property litigation.

Continue reading

Bernard’s general expertise lies in the field of mechanical and civil engineering. He has specialized in machine construction, flexible manufacturing systems, conveyor systems, offshore techniques, surgical instruments and consumer products. His clients are of all sizes, with a focus on midsized industrial supply companies. Bernard has a pragmatic approach to IP protection, and is a word smith who enjoys direct communication with his clients. Bernard’s practice is divided between patent prosecution and patent litigation. He has wide experience in patent litigation cases before the court in The Hague, and opposition and appeal cases before the European Patent Office. He applies his litigation experience to build strong patent portfolios for his clients.

Bernard is Head of the Engineering and Hightech & Electronics section. Also, he is founding member of the V.O. China Desk and member of the board of directors of V.O.

Working experience

  • Patent Attorney, V.O. (1997-present)

Education

  • LLM in IP Litigation, Nottingham Law School (2011)
  • MSc in Mechanical engineering, Delft University of Technology (1995)
  • Economics, Beloit College USA

Directories

  • “In the mechanical and civil engineering fields, it’s hard to find a better expert than Bernard Ledeboer. He syncs up perfectly with company legal and inventor teams, and has the experience and perspicacity to solve their prosecution and litigation issues” (IAM Patent 1000, 2021).
  • Recognized as Patent Star (2015, 2014, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020, 2021) by Managing Intellectual Property.
  • Recommended Individual (IAM Patent 1000, 2020, 2021, 2022; JUVE Patent 2020).
  • Recommended in Who’s Who Legal 2020.
  • Bernard Ledeboer “has tremendous experience in dealing with the courts and has a knack for presenting cases clearly and effectively” (IAM Patent 1000, 2019).
  • Bernard Ledeboer “particularly impresses, and he is frequently singled out by peers as an example of what a prosecutor should be. The engineering aficionado also boasts qualifications and experience in litigation. He stands out for his recent efforts in conjunction with colleagues in the Belgian office, excelling in opposition proceedings on behalf of plastics giants, and for his instrumental technical contribution to infringement proceedings between medical devices supremo B Braun Melsungen and its arch-rival Beckton Dickinson. He has a pragmatic approach to IP protection, and is a wordsmith who enjoys direct communication with his clients” (IAM Patent 1000, 2018).
  • “A founding member of the firm’s China desk, Bernard Ledeboer is a font of insight on the Middle Kingdom” (IAM Patent 1000, 2017).
  • “Mechanical engineer Bernard Ledeboer has an LLM in IP litigation and is regularly tested in infringement cases; he recently obtained a favourable judgment for Ascom, working together with Peter Hendricks of Freshfields fame” (IAM Patent 1000, 2016).
  • “Bernard Ledeboer is another consistently high-functioning mechanical engineering connoisseur. Operating on both sides of the contentious/non-contentious divide, he is well positioned to disburse holistic advice” (IAM Patent 1000, 2015).
  • “Bernard Ledeboer is the first port of call for lawyers looking for technical assistance on litigation briefs” (IAM Patent 1000, 2014).
  • “Excellent communicator Leo Jessen and Bernard Ledeboer are the top mechanical engineering specialists there” (IAM Patent 1000, 2013).
  • “Bernard Ledeboer’s legal training and experience of cases before the court in The Hague make him a joy to work with – he understands the difficulties facing lawyers and intuitively knows how a case should be presented to a judge. A civil and mechanical engineering specialist, Ledeboer has niche expertise in machine construction, conveyor systems and surgical products” (IAM Patent 1000, 2012).

Publications

  • ‘Patent Litigation at the patents County Court’, Extended Piece of Work for the LLM in Intellectual Property Litigation at Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Trent University, 2011.

Professional & Community Activities

  • Member of the Netherlands Patent Attorney Organization, EPI, AIPPI, CEIPI, UNION

Languages

  • English
  • Dutch
  • German

Also see these experts

Karel de Jong

Karel de Jong

  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney
  • Associate
Daan Wouters

Daan Wouters

  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney
  • Associate
More experts

News

Column – ‘Choose what you want to protect’

Traditionally, the Triumph and Sloggi brands have been known for their innovations in the lingerie market. The Triumph Group always wants to be in the lead when it comes to its expertise in comfort, style and fit of lingerie.Continue reading

Registered as European Patent Attorneys

In July, no less than five associates of V.O. were registered as European patent attorneys, after having learned a few weeks earlier that they had all passed their EQE (European Qualifying Examination).Continue reading

ISO25010 measures software quality

In the periphery of V.O.’s field of expertise – protecting intellectual property – there are several professional service providers who can help your company. Especially when your company is still in its developing stage, such help can increase your company’s value.Continue reading

Events

IP Service World 2022

Holiday Inn Munich - City Centre, an IHG Hotel, Hochstraße, München, Germany

Europe’s largest IP Convention & Trade Fair, the IP Service World, is a very unique event. It is the perfect mixture of a comprehensive trade fair and a top-class convention with contributions from leading experts. Continue reading