Spring direct naar de hoofdnavigatie of de inhoud
‘Peu importe ce que votre entreprise a déjà réalisé, la protection PI des technologies critiques est essentielle pour rester en tête de la concurrence.’
Frits Schut

Frits Schut

  • Sciences de la vie
  • Mandataire en brevets européens et néerlandais, European Patent Litigator
  • Partenaire

Frits Schut est actif dans le domaine des brevets depuis 1995, année où il a participé à l’exploitation de brevets dont il était co-inventeur dans une start-up de biotechnologie.

Continuez la lecture

Frits a étudié la biologie à l’université d’Utrecht et d’Amsterdam et a obtenu un doctorat en microbiologie à l’université de Groningue. Travaillant à sa thèse de doctorat à l’université de l’Alaska de Fairbanks, il est entré en contact avec la génétique moléculaire et le diagnostic ADN. Il a réussi à développer davantage ces techniques pour des applications médicales et vétérinaires à la faculté de médecine de Groningue et ces développements ont été commercialisés dans une start-up de diagnostic dont il était codirecteur.

Frits a rejoint V. O. en 2001. Il possède une vaste expertise et est notamment impliqué dans la biotechnologie thérapeutique et de diagnostic (médical), la microbiologie et la protection de la végétation. En raison de ses antécédents et de son portefeuille actuel de clients, Frits a une expérience en particulier avec les entreprises du secteur des sciences de la vie désireuses de protéger leurs technologies essentielles. Il possède une vaste expérience en matière d’affaires de brevets devant l’Office européen des brevets et le tribunal de La Haye. Frits a également acquis de l’expérience dans le domaine de la protection de la végétation auprès de l’Office néerlandais et communautaire des variétés végétales.

Expérience professionnelle

  • Mandataire en brevets, V.O. (2001-aujourd’hui)
  • Codirecteur et responsable de la sécurité, Microscreen, Groningue (1995-2000)
  • Postdoctorat, Université de Groningue (1993)
  • Visiteur scientifique, Université de l’Alaska de Fairbanks (1988)

Formation

  • Doctorat, Microbiologie, Université de Groningue (1994)
  • Maîtrise, Biologie, Université de Groningue (1988), spécialisation en microbiologie

Guides

  • « Frits Schut est titulaire d’un doctorat en microbiologie et possède près de 30 ans d’expérience en matière de brevets. Son parcours a commencé en tant que co-inventeur dans une start-up de biotechnologie, et il fait depuis partie intégrante de l’équipe depuis plus de vingt ans. Le travail de M. Schut porte sur la biotechnologie thérapeutique et diagnostique, ainsi que sur les innovations liées aux plantes » (IAM Patent 1000, 2024)
  • « Frits Schut offre un large éventail de services et peut soutenir ses clients dans de nombreux domaines. Ses connaissances professionnelles, tant du point de vue technique que procédural, sont cruciales et il est un partenaire fiable à avoir à ses côtés » (IAM Patent 1000, 2023)
  • « Frits Schut, un as de la biologie, est un guide de confiance pour les entreprises de biotechnologie et un avocat expérimenté devant l’OEB en matière de protection des plantes. Il comprend l’esprit d’innovation et met tout en œuvre pour protéger les inventions clés de ses clients » (IAM Patent 1000, 2021).
  • Recommended Individual (IAM Patent 1000, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024)
  • Otto Oudshoorn, Hajo Kraak et Frits Schut sont les piliers de la pratique des sciences de la vie et de la chimie. En tant que co-directeur d’une start-up, Frits Schut a une expérience commerciale de première main, c’est un des « brillants sages des sciences de la vie extrêmement talentueux et astucieux sur le plan technique. » (IAM Patent 1000, 2019)

Activités annexes

  • Membre d’UNION (Président du comité des sciences de la vie)
  • Membre de l’AIPLA
  • Membre de la FICPI
  • Membre de l’association néerlandaise des conseils en brevets
  • Membre de l’EPI

Langues

  • Anglais
  • Néerlandais

Regardez aussi ces experts

Jetze Beeksma

Jetze Beeksma

  • Mandataire en brevets européens et néerlandais, European Patent Litigator
  • Partenaire
Mark Einerhand

Mark Einerhand

  • Mandataire en brevets européens et néerlandais
  • Partenaire
Plus d’ experts pertinents

Nouvelles

Des règles européennes plus strictes contre l’écoblanchiment

Des termes tels que “climatiquement neutre”, “neutre en carbone” et “durable” font référence à des déclarations environnementales liées à un produit ou à une entreprise qui véhiculent directement ou indirectement un message “vert”. Plusieurs directives européennes ont été élaborées pour éviter que les consommateurs ne soient influencés par des allégations “vertes” trompeuses utilisant des mots, […]Continuez la lecture

Meilleur score au classement 2024 IAM Patent 1000

Nous sommes fiers d’avoir obtenu une nouvelle fois une excellente note dans le classement 2024 de l’IAM Patent 1000 : The World’s Leading Patent Practitioners. Ce guide, compilé par la revue spécialisée britannique Intellectual Asset Management (IAM), classe les meilleurs praticiens en matière de brevets dans les principales juridictions du monde. Le classement 2024 a […]Continuez la lecture

Capricorn investit dans des entreprises ayant un impact

Capricorn Partners investit dans des entreprises innovantes et en croissance dont la technologie a un impact positif sur les personnes et la planète. Capricorn Partners est un gestionnaire indépendant de fonds de capital-risque et de capital-développement, ainsi que de fonds d’actions cotées en bourse.Continuez la lecture

Spring direct naar de hoofdnavigatie of de inhoud
‘No matter what accomplishments your business makes, IP protection of essential technologies is vital to stay ahead of the competition.’
Frits Schut

Frits Schut

  • Life Sciences
  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney
  • Partner

Frits Schut has been involved in patenting since 1995, when exploiting patented inventions of which he was a co-inventor in a biotech startup.

Frits studied biology at the universities of Utrecht, Amsterdam and obtained his PhD in microbiology from the university of Groningen.

Continue reading

While performing part of his PhD work at the University of Alaska Fairbanks he came into contact with molecular genetics and DNA diagnostics. He was able to further develop these techniques for medical and veterinary application with the Medical faculty in Groningen and these developments were commercially implemented in a startup diagnostic company, of which he was a co-director.

Frits joined V.O. in 2001. He has broad expertise, and is particularly involved in therapeutic and diagnostic (medical) biotechnology, microbiology and plant protection. Both because of his background and portfolio, Frits has special experience with Life Science companies aiming to protect their essential technologies. He has a wide experience in patent cases before the European Patent Office and the Court of The Hague. Frits also has experience with plant protection before the Dutch and Community Plant Variety Office.

Working experience

  • Patent Attorney, V.O. (2001-present)
  • Co-Director and CSO Microscreen, Groningen (1995-2000)
  • Post-Doc, University of Groningen (1993)
  • Visiting Scientist, University of Alaska Fairbanks (1988)

Education

  • PhD in Microbiology, University of Groningen (1994)
  • MSc in Biology, University of Groningen (1988), Major in Microbiology

Directories

  • “Frits Schut provides a wide range of services and can support clients in a number of fields. His professional knowledge from both the technical and procedural standpoint is crucial, and he is a reliable partner to have on your side” (IAM Patent 1000, 2023)
  • “Biology ace Frits Schut is a trusted guide of biotechnology companies and an experienced advocate before the EPO on matters of plant protection. He understands the innovation mindset and puts his shoulder to the wheel to protect clients’ keystone inventions” (IAM Patent 1000, 2021)
  • Recommended Individual (IAM Patent 1000, 2020, 2021, 2022)
  • “Otto Oudshoorn, Hajo Kraak and Frits Schut are mainstays of the life sciences and chemistry practice. As co-director of a start-up, Schut has first-hand commercial experience; another ‘brilliant life sciences sage who is extremely talented and technically astute’” (IAM Patent 1000, 2019)

Professional & Community Activities

  • Member of UNION (President of Life Sciences Commission)
  • Member of AIPLA
  • Member of FICPI
  • Member of Netherlands Institute of Patent Attorneys
  • Member of EPI

Languages

  • English
  • Dutch

Also see these experts

Sjoerd Postma

Sjoerd Postma

  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney, European Patent Litigator
  • Associate
Marijke Westra

Marijke Westra

  • European and Dutch Patent Attorney, European Patent Litigator
  • Senior Associate
More experts

News

Enforcement of intellectual property rights

You have invested considerable time, energy and expense in developing and protecting an invention, design, trademark or logo. At some point you discover that a third party enters the market with a method, product, design or trademark that appears to infringe on your intellectual property (IP) rights. The question is what action you can take.Continue reading

Relaxation of rules for transfer of right of priority

The right of priority is the basis of international patent protection, allowing the applicant to continue the original patent application abroad within one year while maintaining the original filing date. In recent years, an increasing number of patents have been revoked in opposition proceedings at the European Patent Office (EPO) due to an invalid transfer […]Continue reading

Are experimental data needed for your patent application?

‘Should we carry out more experiments to substantiate the concept of our invention? Or will this take too much time, and will it give the competition an opportunity to file their application earlier?’ These are questions that many innovative companies face each time when a new patentable idea is conceived.Continue reading

Events

Jobfair Vlaamse Technische Kring (VTK) 2024

Brabanthal, Brabantlaan, Leuven, België

The VTK Jobfair will take place on Thurday 14 March 2024. The Jobfair falls during an interesting time for students to find out what the business market has to offer. It is the ideal opportunity for students to get in touch with companies through VTK.

Continue reading

Graduate Jobfair Ghent 2024

Flanders Expo, Maaltekouter, Ghent, Belgium

De Graduate Jobfair Ghent 2024 is organized by the Ghent University Association.
(Almost) graduated and looking for your first challenging job? Or, looking for further education after your bachelor (BA) or master (MA)? Get to know the current job market and a wide range of further study opportunities.

Continue reading

JCI Flemish-Brabant Young Entrepreneur of the Year 2024

De Hoorn, Sluisstraat, Leuven, Belgium

JCI Flemish-Brabant Young Entrepreneur of the Year. Our society is constantly changing. And let that be precisely the goal of Junior Chamber International ("JCI"): to bring about positive changes in our society.

Continue reading